I spent over £70 at Mirror Image Style and I was shocked how the clothes fitted on me

I know we are in a lockdown but I got pay and believe summer 2021 is still on the cards, depending on the government roadmap to come out of COVID restrictions. So, I thought what better way to spend my money than doing online clothes shopping.

I came across this online clothes site called Mirror Image Style when I was on Facebook and looking at my former classmates celebrating engagements and pregnancies.

I have never been on the site and was curious to see what they have to offer. Then I thought of buying stuff worth up to £75 and reviewing it, instead of trusting popular companies, like PrettyLittleThings and Boohoo. I am a size 12, thanks to lockdown and unhealthy eating, but still love my body size.

Bio About the Company

Mirror Image Style is a fast fashion e-tailer that sells a catalogue of celebrity influenced styles for costumers to feel like a star. Many celebrities have endorsed the brand, which reflects its large social media following with over 14.6k followers.

They sell women clothes and accessories for all seasons at affordable prices, with sales selling clothing under £5. Costumers will be able to access the brand’s products anywhere in the world as they offer worldwide shipping.

Website/What I ordered

The website is very attractive with its sleek and organised design that allowed me to easily navigate my way through different sections on the website. The site has particular categories based on the type of product, style, body fit and how new or discounted it is.

The clothes are cute, glamourous and pretty. Definitely my type of style. Mirror Image Style embraces celebrity culture and gives young girls the opportunity to feel A-class with the style range they’re selling.

However, I have two major problems with the brand and the presentation of the site.

The first problem is availability. It maybe organised with its catalogue but it lists sold-out items, one of my pet-peeves when I’m doing online shopping. What is the point of building up costumers’ hopes of the perfect outfit, after searching for hours or days on end, only to be crushed to find out that it not available? That is heart-breaking and soul destroying all in one.

The second is a section for tall people. I’m 5’11” and it’s hard to find long enough clothing to cover the long limbs. When I see the details about the item, the fits are based on models that were no taller than 5’7”. That gives me no confidence that it’s going to cover my derriere and ankles. The brand has a place for plus size with its ‘Glamourous Plus’ and accommodates to petite costumers with its model fittings, why can it help the tall girls in the world?

But, in the end, I chose the items and got:

Delivery/Package

I ordered the clothes on Sunday, on next day delivery shipping, and got it on a Tuesday morning. Next day delivery costed £7.99. However, you can get free standard delivery if the order is £69.

The package was bulging and heavy, ready to burst out of the seams. Personally, I’m not a fan because of the potential damage and tear that could have happened during transit.

Mirror Image Style Packaging 

Clothes Quality and Fit

Queralt (Nude Jumpsuit) Size 12

Queralt (Nude Jumpsuit) Jumpsuit on me

Clothing Quality – 8/10

Pros

  • Long length that fully covered my legs
  • Complemented my body figure
  • Beautiful design

Cons

  • Hard to zip up from the back
  • The bust area was a bit loose around the chest area

Canei (Gym/Loungewear) Size 12

Canei (Gym/Loungewear) on me

Clothing Quality – 7/10

Pros

  • Very Comfy
  • Very Stretchy – surprised me as it looked small out of the packet and could cover full body
  • Fit to my body

Cons

  • Design didn’t look good on me

Emberly (Multi-coloured Playsuit) Size 12

Emberly Multi-Coloured Playsuit on me

Clothing Quality – 3/10

Pros

  • Looks beautiful/attractive

Cons

Scratches on my skins
  • The WORST material to be wearing – left me with scratches when I was trying it on
  • Too small length wise
  • Not constructed well- fringes were very flimsy and probably wouldn’t last after one wash

Ivy (Gold Top) Size 12

Ivy Gold Top on Me

Clothing Quality – 6/10

Pros

  • Fit wells
  • Looks attractive

Cons

  • Poorly constructed
  • Hard to secure at the back

Kallista (White Leather Jacket) Size 14

Kallista (White Jacket) on me

Clothing Quality – 3/10

Pros

  • Looks attractive
  • Very fashionably versatile

Cons

Faint mark on coat
  • Too tight/small
  • Didn’t cover the arms
  • Isn’t stretchy
  • Had a faint stain

Wet Looking Cosy Leggings Black Size 12-14

Wet Looking Leggings on me

Clothing Quality – 3/10

Pros

Cons

  • Too small
  • Highly unflattering
  • Not stretchy

Overall

Whilst I loved the quick delivery and the comfortable fittings, I was quite disappointed with the quality. I was worried about the maintenance and didn’t know if I’m going to throw it away after wearing it a couple of times. I ESPECIALLY didn’t appreciate the stain on the jacket when I first opened it. My hands were clean and I made sure that I wasn’t near anything that could get it dirty but, yet, I find a faint orange mark on the jacket.

To be honest, I would not be ordering from the brand again despite the good browsing and delivery experience. It’s not worth the fear of not being a fit, because there weren’t samples on models that are just as tall as me.

This is the problem with fast fashion e-tailers. They identify a market for short and curvier people but, because they feel tall people are targeted by high fashion labels, they neglect to recognise that tall people are just a niche profitable market as well. Fast fashion should not be ignorant and dismiss tall people from their model fittings, because they are thousands of girls that are in the same position. If they are looking for diversity, this includes tall girls as well.

Leave a comment